Ice Cream Memories

We were fortunate enough to visit Germany a few years ago, staying at a friend’s house in Berlin. One day I was longing for ice cream. We were doing various things all day and I didn’t get a chance to buy myself any. In the evening we wound up in a lively enclave near a train station. We were just walking around, and I saw an ice cream store. I rushed over but it had just that moment closed. Crestfallen I walked away. When we came back to the area a few minutes later the store had miraculously reopened. I told everyone to wait for me, dashed in, and came out with a lovely cone. I took two licks and was just starting to savor it when my ice cream fell to the ground. Husband and older child just laughed, younger child was a bit sorry for me. But how sorry can you be for an aging woman on a nice vacation who dropped her ice cream? Still, l get tears in my eyes when I remember.

Leave a Reply

